Coffee Culture

Around the World

Coffee has its own unique characteristics in cities and countries across the world. Next time you travel, as well as admiring the scenery and history and experiencing a new culture, take a sip of the local coffee to savor your trip in a different way.

Turkey

Coffee has been central to Turkish culture since the first coffeehouses appeared in the country in the 1500s. The Turkish word for breakfast, kahvaltı, means “before coffee”, giving some insight into when locals take their first cup of the day. Turkish coffee, which is served in small cups where the grounds settle at the bottom, is very thick, dark, strong and sweet. Plenty of sugar and sometimes spices like cardamom and chicory are added to produce a rich, dessert-like treat. One tradition that has been passed down through the generations is coffee fortune-telling. After a guest finishes his or her coffee, a host will turn the cup upside down, allow the grounds to cool and then tell a person’s fortune by reading the grounds.

Italy

In Italy, un caffé is a “shot” of espresso – an ounce of concentrated coffee. Although Italians drink caffé (espresso) all day long, two of the country’s national beverages, cappuccino and caffé latte, are traditionally only consumed in the morning. As travel writer Lee Marshall noted in his “10 commandments” of Italian coffee culture, drinks with milk are not usually taken after meals because “Italians cringe at the thought of all that hot milk hitting a full stomach”.

Brazil

Similarly, many Brazilians drink espresso all day long. Brazil’s version, cafezinho, is made by mixing hot water, finely ground coffee and sugar, and then straining the mixture through a filter. Like Turkish coffee, cafezinho is dark, strong and sweet – but not nearly as thick – and served in small cups.

Japan

Japan has become famous for its iced coffee, which is made by brewing hot coffee and instantly chilling it. Coffee grounds are first put into a filter, which is placed over an ice-filled serving pot. Then boiling water is poured over the grounds, so that as the coffee drips, it immediately begins to cool. It locks in the aromatics, resulting in a sweeter and smoother cup of coffee.

Vienna

The United Nations included “Viennese Coffee House Culture” in its National Inventory of Intangible Cultural Heritage for Austria in 2012. It dates back to the 1600s after the siege of Vienna by the Ottoman Turks. When the Turks were defeated and driven out, they were said to have left behind sacks of coffee beans. Today, Viennese coffeehouses, or kaffeehaüser, often stay open from 6am until midnight, welcoming customers to sit and relax for hours over a wiener mélange: coffee with steamed milk, topped with milk foam.

Vietnam

During the 19th century, when Vietnam was under French rule, fresh milk was difficult to store, so condensed milk took its place. A delightful indulgence, Vietnamese iced coffee, called cà phê sữa đá, is made by brewing concentrated coffee over condensed milk, stirring it up and pouring it over ice. On a hot, humid summer day, it is sweet perfection.

United States

Coffee has always been popular in the U.S.A., in large part because tea was heavily taxed by the British. Although drip coffee is ubiquitous throughout the States, the country is often associated with the Americano, which is espresso mixed with hot water. The drink is said to have evolved during World War Two, when American soldiers stationed in Italy discovered that “coffee” was just a shot of espresso. The story goes that in order to make the drink more like the regular coffee they knew, the soldiers added hot water.

Singapore

Unlike most western brews, kopi is darker in color and is more concentrated. To enhance their flavor, the beans are roasted in a wok with butter or lard and sugar. This caramelizes the beans and gives them a unique aroma. The beans are then strained through a sock (a small cloth that acts as an infuser) and mixed with condensed milk. Pair this with kaya toast (kaya is a traditional jam made from coconut and eggs) and a half-boiled egg and you’ll have the perfect Singaporean breakfast.

Kenya

Major coffee producer Kenya has long had its own unique way of drinking coffee. Kahawa chungu, or “bitter coffee”, is a traditional drink made in brass kettles over a charcoal stove and is typically enjoyed by men, according to Reuters. A far more recent phenomenon is the advent of the coffeehouse in major cities such as Nairobi. Unfortunately for Kenyans, most of the highest quality coffee produced in their country still gets exported to other parts of the world.

Source:

You may be like

來自世界各地的

咖 啡 香

享受香醇咖啡的方式,並不止一種;
各國的咖啡各有特色;
踏足世界各地,
欣賞地球另一端的風景、親身感受當地獨有文化的同時,
呷一口當地的咖啡,
以另一種方式細味旅行的點滴。

土耳其

自1500年代第一間咖啡館誕生以來,咖啡就成為土耳其文化的核心。土耳其語早餐「kavaltıc」一詞,是指「喝咖啡前」,這也反映了當地人一天中享用第一杯咖啡的時間。土耳其咖啡都以小杯盛載,咖啡粉沉澱在底部,顏色暗黑、口感醇厚香甜。咖啡中會加入大量糖,有時候還會加入小豆蔻和菊苣等調味料,讓咖啡喝起來濃郁而香甜。 以咖啡算命是土耳其代代相傳的傳統。在客人喝完咖啡後,主人會將咖啡杯翻轉,讓咖啡粉冷卻,然後根據咖啡粉形成的圖案來算命。

意大利

在意大利,un caffé是指一安士濃縮咖啡。意大利人一整天都會喝咖啡;而傳統上Cappuccino和Latte兩種含牛奶或奶泡的咖啡只會在早上喝。遊記作家Lee Marshall於著作Ten Commandments of Il Culto del Caffè中,描寫意大利的咖啡文化時寫道,意大利人通常在餐後不會喝含牛奶的飲品,原因是「擔心熱牛奶會對充滿食物的胃部造成刺激」。

巴西

與意大利人一樣,許多巴西人一整天都喝著意式濃咖啡。巴西版的濃咖啡名為「cafezinho」,是將熱水、細咖啡粉和糖混合後,再用濾器進行過濾,成為cafezinho。像土耳其咖啡一樣,用小杯盛載的cafezinho顏色暗黑、口感醇厚香甜,只是咖啡濃度較低。

日本

日本以冰咖啡著稱;先沖泡熱咖啡,再將之迅速冷卻。首先將咖啡粉裝進過濾器,過濾器則放在一個裝滿冰塊的咖啡壺上;然後將沸水注入咖啡粉,滴下去的咖啡立即開始冷卻。這種沖泡方法能鎖住咖啡的香味,口感也更為細膩。

奧地利

2012年,聯合國教科文組織把「維也納咖啡館文化」列入《奧地利非物質文化遺產名錄》。追溯到1600年代,奧斯曼土耳其人包圍了維也納,後來土耳其人慘敗,被趕出奧地利。據說,在他們撤走時留下了幾袋咖啡豆,催生了維也納的咖啡文化。今天,維也納咖啡屋(kaffeehaüser)通常從早上6點開業,一直營業至午夜時分,客人們往往點一杯「wiener mélange」,一坐就是數小時;wiener mélange由濃縮咖啡加牛奶而成,最上面則是一層濃厚的奶泡。

越南

19世紀,越南處於法國殖民統治,法國人把咖啡豆帶到越南。有別於加入大量鮮奶的法式咖啡,咖啡文化初傳入越南時,難以取得奶源並保存,因此改以煉奶調味,形成別樹一幟的咖啡風味。受熱帶氣候影響,越南人相當喜歡喝冰咖啡,稱為「cà phê sữa đá」,以濃咖啡和煉奶沖泡,攪拌後加入冰塊中;在炎熱、潮濕的夏日喝一口凍咖啡,簡直就是「透心涼」。

美國

咖啡在美國一直很受歡迎,儘管滴漏咖啡在美國無處不在,但是最為人熟悉的還是以意式濃咖啡和熱水混合而成的美式咖啡(Americano)。據說,美式咖啡是在第二次世界大戰時形成的;當時,駐紮在歐洲,特別是意大利的美國步兵,無法習慣意大利濃咖啡的強度,於是他們加入熱水稀釋咖啡,以模仿他們家鄉滴漏咖啡的味道。

新加坡

新加坡的古早南洋咖啡,散發與西方咖啡與別不同的香氣,味道類似可可的濃郁香甜,而且色澤也比較黑。這是因為在烘焙咖啡豆時,加入了一道特別的工序:當咖啡豆烘至八分熟後,加入牛油、糖,甚至鹽或粟米粒,然後炒至全熟;這樣咖啡豆便會裹上一層油亮糖衣,味道濃郁香醇;研磨後,以濾布形式沖煮,加上一份咖椰吐司及半生熟蛋,就是很多新加坡人每天的早餐了。

肯亞

是主要的咖啡產地,喝咖啡亦有專門的方法。Kahawa Chungu 或「苦咖啡」,是肯亞一種傳統咖啡,在木炭爐子上的銅壺內製作。根據路透社報道,肯亞通常只有男性才會喝咖啡。近年,大城市羅畢也出現了咖啡館;不過,肯亞本國生產的大部分高質量咖啡,依然以出口到世界各地為主。

你可能喜歡